ORIE welcomes new members to the INFORMS Omega Rho Honor Society

In the past two academic years Cornell's School of Operations Research and Information Engineering has welcomed 36 new members to the INFORMS Omega Rho Honor Society. This week the School hosted a reception to recognize and congratulate these students.

Due to COVID considerations, ORIE was unable to gather to recognize last year's 23 honorees. This year, the School hosted an ice cream reception for the 13 members of the 2021-22 cohort as well as for those from last years group who were still a Cornell. 

The Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) is an international society for practitioners in the fields of operations research, management science, and analytics. One of the many valuable roles INFORMS plays in the development and promotion of the field of OR and analytics is the administration of the the Omega Rho Honor Society. Omega Rho was founded in 1976, independent of INFORMS, and came under the INFORMS umbrella in 1998.

According to the Omega Rho oath, the society exists "to encourage the study of Operations Research and Management Science related disciplines and to recognize academic excellence and leadership potential in these areas." There are currently 38 chapters of Omega Rho, with Cornell being home to a large and active chapter.

To be considered for admission to Omega Rho, a student must be a junior or senior in the top 25% of their class and have a G.P.A. of 3.5 or higher. In addition, the ORIE faculty must must also approve a student for admission to the society. 

Several ORIE staff and faculty joined the honorees for ice cream from Cornell Dairy and some welcome comments from ORIE Director Mark Lewis.

These two most recent cohorts are listed below:

Omega Rho 2022

Hanyu Zhang

Bonnie Akhavan

Vladia Trinh

Bennett Miller

Vishruth Rajinikanth

Rebecca Westerlind

Jeren Konak

Yingxi Li

Christopher Lawson

Kevin Jiang

Trey Hensel

Emily Hanh

Caroline He


Omega Rho 2021

Zachary Katz

Yiheng Dong

Arjun Suri

Devin Smedira

Allison Grimsted

Sophia Arzumanov

Lea Nassar

Selena Kang

Jacob Arnold

Rhythm Raghuwanshi

Stephen Tse

Rachel Lu

Joseph Merhi

Eva Zhang

Jack Rehmann

Julia Allen

Henry Robbins

Christopher Archer

Zili Zhou

Kaitlyn MacGillis

Ja Young Byun

Jody Zhu

Yichen Feng


Other Articles of Interest